Department of History and Philosophy

About Department: Faculty and Staff

Catherine Lewis

Executive Director, Museums, Archives & Rare Books
Director, Museum of History and Holocaust Education
Professor of History

Contact Information

Office: Social Sciences (SO 402), Room 4130
Phone: 470-578-2058
Fax: 470-578-9149


Dr. Catherine M. Lewis is a professor of history, Director of the Museum of History and Holocaust Education, and Executive Director of Museums, Archives & Rare Books. She received her B.A. with honors in English and History at Emory University and M.A. and Ph.D. in American Studies at the University of Iowa. She is the author, co-editor, or co-author of nine books, including The Changing Face of Public History: The Chicago Historical Society and the Transformation of an American History Museum (2005) and Don’t Ask What I Shot: How Eisenhower’s Love of Golf Helped Shape 1950s America (2007), both of which won the KSU Foundation Prize. She has recently completed a third documentary collection, in partnership with Dr. J. Richard Lewis, with the University of Arkansas Press entitled Women and Slavery: A Documentary History (2011).

Dr. Lewis's research interests are varied and include World War II and the Holocaust, Public History, sport history, African-American history, and women’s history. In addition to her publications, she has curated or coordinated more than thirty exhibitions for a variety of organizations, including the Atlanta History Center, Delta Airlines, the Atlanta Daily World, and the United Way. She regularly presents at national and international conferences and has helped bring numerous grants to KSU, including an MCCA grant from the U.S. State Department and the American Association of Museums in partnership with the Ben M’sik Community Museum in Morocco, the National Trust for Historic Preservation in support of Oakland Cemetery, and the Marcus Foundation in support of the Museum of History and Holocaust Education. For more information about the Museum of History and Holocaust Education visit, contact 678-797-2083, or visit at the KSU Center, 3333 Busbee Drive.

Faculty and Staff

Adebayo, Akanmu
Allen, William
Bailey, Kent
Bartlett, Stephen
Bedard, Brandie
Brooking, Robert
DeAngelo, Angela
Dickey, Jennifer
Donahue, Amy
Dover, Paul
Downey, Justin
Drews, Wayne
Evangelista, Rhiannon
Fox, Paul
Goldberg, Kevin
Gurkas, Hakki
Honey, Diana
Hooper, John
Hutchinson, Matthew
Johnson, Daniel
Jones, David
Keene, Thomas
Kersey, Terrence
LeBaron, Alan
Lewis, Catherine
MacDonald, Megan
Mannion, Richard
Mason, Joshua
McGovern, Bryan
McKinzey, Jane
McMahon, Joel
Meeler, Joseph
Nicholson, William
Nystrom, Elsa
Okie, Tom
Parker, David
Pate, Alice
Patton, Randy
Perrin, Charles
Piecuch, Jim
Poole, Jerry
Price, William
Racel, Masako
Reesor, Victor
Reeve, Kay
Ronnenberg, Ryan
Rouse, Susan
Scott, Thomas
Scragg, Celia
Shealy, Howard
Slomovitz, Albert
Soldatenko, Gabriel
Staaf, Christopher
Stewart, Patricia
Stricklen, Jean
Traille, Kay
Valenzuela, Pablo
Vaught, Seneca
Vlachos, Bernadette
Vladimirov, Katya
Voogt, Gerrit
Ward, Amy
Way, Ivy
Way, Albert
Westlund, Rene
Whitehead, Andrew
Williams, Damien
Wills, Brian
Wolfe, John
Wynn, Charles
Young, Pearl
Zhang, Jiayan