Department of History and Philosophy

About Department: Faculty and Staff

Albert Way

Assistant Professor of History

Contact Information

Office: Social Sciences (SO 402), Room 4096
Phone: 470-578-7760
Fax: 470-578-9149


Albert G. Way received his Ph.D. in history from the University of Georgia and joined the faculty of KSU in 2011. He teaches classes in recent U.S. history, Georgia History, and Environmental History. Dr. Way’s research interests focus on the environmental and agricultural history of the American South. He is the author of Conserving Southern Longleaf: Herbert Stoddard and the Rise of Ecological Land Management (University of Georgia Press, 2011), and The Art of Managing Longleaf: A Personal History of the Stoddard-Neel Approach (with Leon Neel and Paul Sutter, UGA Press, 2010). He is currently working on a book-length project tentatively titled Not Naturally a Grass Country: Environment, Plant Genetics, and the Quest for Agricultural Modernization in the Humid World, which examines the use of scientific expertise to transform agricultural landscapes in the American South and other humid regions. He has received fellowships from the Smithsonian Institution and the Institute for Southern Studies at the University of South Carolina.

Faculty and Staff

Adebayo, Akanmu
Allen, William
Bailey, Kent
Bartlett, Stephen
Bedard, Brandie
Brooking, Robert
DeAngelo, Angela
Dickey, Jennifer
Donahue, Amy
Dover, Paul
Downey, Justin
Drews, Wayne
Evangelista, Rhiannon
Fox, Paul
Goldberg, Kevin
Gurkas, Hakki
Honey, Diana
Hooper, John
Hutchinson, Matthew
Johnson, Daniel
Jones, David
Keene, Thomas
Kersey, Terrence
LeBaron, Alan
Lewis, Catherine
MacDonald, Megan
Mannion, Richard
Mason, Joshua
McGovern, Bryan
McKinzey, Jane
McMahon, Joel
Meeler, Joseph
Nicholson, William
Nystrom, Elsa
Okie, Tom
Parker, David
Pate, Alice
Patton, Randy
Perrin, Charles
Piecuch, Jim
Poole, Jerry
Price, William
Racel, Masako
Reesor, Victor
Reeve, Kay
Ronnenberg, Ryan
Rouse, Susan
Scott, Thomas
Scragg, Celia
Shealy, Howard
Slomovitz, Albert
Soldatenko, Gabriel
Staaf, Christopher
Stewart, Patricia
Stricklen, Jean
Traille, Kay
Valenzuela, Pablo
Vaught, Seneca
Vlachos, Bernadette
Vladimirov, Katya
Voogt, Gerrit
Ward, Amy
Way, Ivy
Way, Albert
Westlund, Rene
Whitehead, Andrew
Williams, Damien
Wills, Brian
Wolfe, John
Wynn, Charles
Young, Pearl
Zhang, Jiayan